Faculty + Staff

UCLA Academic Senate selects winners of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards

Four faculty and staff members are among those honored for their contributions to a diverse campus

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards
Courtesy of Voices at Pomona College

The UCLA Academic Senate and its Committee on Diversity and Equal Opportunity recently announced the recipients of the 2016-2017 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards.

Each year, the committee honors one undergraduate student, graduate student, staff and up to four faculty members for their contributions to furthering a diverse, impartial and inclusive environment at UCLA.

Brian Henry, academic mentoring coordinator in the Office of College Academic Counseling, is this year’s staff DEI Award recipient. As coordinator, he has increased collaboration with campus partners, including the Office of Residential Life, the Bruin Resource Center and other centers. With these partnerships, Henry's office has greatly expanded accessibility by providing advising and workshops across campus for student populations such as transfer students, underrepresented minorities and LGBTQ students.

Tracy Johnson, professor of molecular cell and development biology, is this year’s Faculty Career Commitment to Diversity DEI Award recipient. Johnson, a Howard Hughes medical investigator, has been instrumental in establishing and supporting the UCLA Organization of African-American Students Excelling in STEM, a program that supports the success of African-Americans and other minorities in science. She also established a research-based program for first-year science majors from underrepresented and underserved groups.

Mark Litwin, professor and chair of the urology department, is this year’s Faculty Community Service and Praxis DEI Award Recipient. Dr. Litwin has been instrumental in diversifying the faculty in the urology department and recruiting a diverse urology faculty and trainee group in terms of gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic background and sexual identity. Over the past two decades, he has mentored every UCLA student entering the department of urology. Recognizing the challenges of caring for underserved men with prostate cancer, Dr. Litwin founded and continues to lead Improving Access, Counseling and Treatment for Californians with Prostate Cancer, which provides free high-quality, innovative prostate cancer treatment and care for low-income, uninsured men in California's underserved populations.

Anthony Tolbert, adjunct professor and director of learning environment and academic affairs, is this year’s Faculty Student Development DEI Award recipient. Tolbert joined UCLA School of Law in 2000 and spent 14 years co-directing the school’s nationally recognized pipeline program, the Academic Outreach and Development Program. As associate director of this award-winning program, he helped prepare high-potential undergraduate students and college graduates from diverse backgrounds for careers in law. He is currently the school's first director of learning environment and academic affairs.

Student award recipients include Sayil Camacho, a graduate in the department of education, and Brad Fingard, an undergraduate in the department of political science.

Media Contact