The UCLA Academic Senate will announce at today's Legislative Assembly meeting the recipients of UCLA's highest honor for teaching, the Distinguished Teaching Awards, given to Senate faculty members, teaching assistants and non-Senate faculty members.

The awards recognize academically and professionally accomplished individuals who bring respect and admiration to the scholarship of teaching. Recipients are selected from nominations received by colleagues and leaders across the campus and recommendations by students.

Senate faculty awardees:

Donald Buth — Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Alex Purves — Classics

Eric Sung — Dentistry

Abigail Saguy — Gender Studies and Sociology

Ingrid Eagly — Law

Alvaro Sagasti — Molecular, Cell and Development Biology

In addition, three special awards are made to Senate winners of the Distinguished Teaching Awards. This year, professor Buth will receive the Eby Award for the Art of Teaching, professor Purves will be awarded the Distinction in Teaching at the Graduate Level, and professor Sagasti will receive the Undergraduate Mentorship Award.

Teaching assistant awardees:

Aaron Crawford — Sociology

Matthew Thomas Fontana —  Chemistry and Biochemistry

Gabbrielle Johnson — Philosophy

Sydney Miller — English

Kendra Nyberg — Bioengineering and Integrative Biology and Physiology

Non-Senate faculty awardees:

Dr. Jason Napolitano — Medicine

Benjamin James Lewis — Linguistics

Mary Corey — History

All of the winners will be honored during the annual Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching ceremony in the fall, an event co-hosted by the Academic Senate and the UCLA Office of Instructional Development. The UCLA Alumni Association first presented the Distinguished Teaching Awards in 1961 to Academic Senate members. Click here to see all the recipients of these awards.