Faculty Bulletin Board

Physician receives top award from American Heart Association

Gregg Fonarow

Dr. Gregg Fonarow

The American Heart Association presented its 2017 Chairman’s Award saluting excellence in volunteer service to UCLA cardiologist Dr. Gregg Fonarow for his many contributions to the association and to advancing the science and practice of cardiology.

Fonarow, the Eliot Corday Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Science at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, received the award Nov. 12 during the opening of the American Heart Association Scientific Sessions at the Anaheim Convention Center.

Fonarow serves on numerous committees and task forces and chairs the American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology task force on performance measures, the workplace health steering committee and the Get with the Guidelines quality improvement subcommittee. 

James Postl, chairman of the AHA’s national board of directors, presented the award, a citation and $1,000 honorarium.

“The personable Dr. Fonarow is recognized for being able to see ‘the wide vision’ or the ‘big picture’ and verbalize important details and their likely challenges,” Postl said. “He has also been essential to suggesting strategies to overcome these challenges and finding ways to address quality-of-care issues of cardiology today.”

Fonarow also serves as director of the Ahmanson–UCLA Cardiomyopathy Center and co-chief of cardiology.

Learn more about the cardiovascular research theme at UCLA.

Media Contact