Ghez and Tao elected to American Philosophical Society

Scientists Andrea Ghez, a professor of physics and astronomy, and Terence Tao, a professor of mathematics, have been elected to the American Philosophical Society, the country's oldest learned society, which recognizes extraordinary achievements in science, letters and the arts.
Joseph Rudnick, dean of the UCLA Division of Physical Sciences, has called Ghez and Tao "two of UCLA's true superstars — indeed, two of the world's intellectual superstars."
Since 1995, Ghez has used the W.M. Keck Observatory, which sits atop Hawaii's dormant Mauna Kea volcano and houses the two largest telescopes in the world, to study the rotational center of the Milky Way and the movement of hundreds of stars close to this galactic center. She holds UCLA's Lauren B. Leichtman and Arthur E. Levine chair in Astrophysics.
Tao, who holds the James and Carol Collins chair in the UCLA College of Letters and Science, has said that we are living in a "golden age for mathematics." Working to continue making mathematics much more collaborative and interdisciplinary than in the past, Tao said he learns much from the feedback he receives from other mathematicians on his mathematics blog.
The American Philosophical Society was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin. Its members have included George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Charles Darwin, Marie Curie, Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Louis Pasteur, Linus Pauling and Margaret Mead.
Visit UCLA Newsroom for the full story.
Media Contact