6 UCLA professors elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Six UCLA professors are among 210 distinguished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and corporate and philanthropic leaders elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year, in recognition of their "preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large," the academy announced today.
The new fellows and 19 foreign honorary members join one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers. Founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the academy has elected as fellows "the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation."
Previous fellows have included George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
UCLA's new fellows are:
Eric Becklin
Professor emeritus of physics and astronomy and director of the Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy
Rogers Brubaker
Professor of sociology
William Gelbart
Distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry
Stanley Osher
Professor of mathematics and director of special projects at UCLA's Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics
Sanjay Subrahmanyam
Navin and Pratima Doshi Professor of Indian History and director of the UCLA Center for India and South Asia
Terence Tao
Professor of mathematics and holder of the James and Carol Collins Chair in the UCLA College of Letters and Science
An independent policy research center, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current academy research focuses on science and global security, social policy, the humanities and culture, and education.
"Since 1780, the academy has served the public good by convening leading thinkers and doers from diverse perspectives to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day," said Leslie Berlowitz, the academy's CEO and William T. Golden Chair. "I look forward to welcoming into the academy these new members to help continue that tradition."
"These remarkable men and women have made singular contributions to their fields and to the world," said academy President Emilio Bizzi.
The new class will be inducted at an Oct. 10 ceremony at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.
UCLA is California's largest university, with an enrollment of nearly 38,000 undergraduate and graduate students. The UCLA College of Letters and Science and the university's 11 professional schools feature renowned faculty and offer more than 323 degree programs and majors. UCLA is a national and international leader in the breadth and quality of its academic, research, health care, cultural, continuing education and athletic programs. Four alumni and five faculty have been awarded the Nobel Prize.
For more news, visit the UCLA Newsroom.

Media Contacts

Stuart Wolpert,
Terms of Use University of California Office of Media Relations and Public Outreach
© 2014 UC Regents.