Arts + Culture

UCLA Film Student Wins 1998 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award


UCLA film student Lisanne Sartor was named winner of the 1998 UCLA SamuelGoldwyn Writing Awards Competition on Monday afternoon, Oct. 19, at a ceremonyon the Westwood campus.

Sartor was one of five students selected as finalists for the awardfrom among more than 77 entrants from all nine UC campuses. Each entrantsubmitted scripts either in the form of feature-length screenplays or theatricalplays. Other finalists were Kris Young of UCLA, second place; Bobbi Boesof UC Riverside, third place; Danny Kaufman of UCLA, honorable mention;and Melanie Marnich of UC San Diego, honorable mention.

"The UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television is grateful tothe Samuel Goldwyn Foundation for its generous and continuing support ofyoung writers from throughout the UC system," said Dean Robert Rosen."Here at UCLA, we are proud of young writers such as Lisanne, Krisand Danny and the wealth of new talent from our School represented by theirachievement."

The winners of the cash awards, fully supported by the Samuel GoldwynFoundation, were selected by screenwriter Pamela Gray, winner of the 1992Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award; Academy Award-winning actor/director/producerDustin Hoffman; and actor/director Tony Goldwyn. The awards include a $6,000first prize, $3,000 second prize, $1,500 third prize and two $1,000 honorablemention prizes.

Started by Samuel Goldwyn Sr. in 1955 to encourage young stage, filmand television writers, the award has been presented annually for morethan four decades. Previous winners include such outstanding writers/filmmakersas Francis Ford Coppola, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth, Allison Anders and JonathanKellerman.

"We are very proud of this award and the fact that it is one ofthe oldest and most-respected awards of its kind given to encourage stageand screen writers," said Samuel Goldwyn Jr. "I believe thatwe're carrying on the tradition started by my father in 1955 on the occasionof his 75th birthday. "We're also proud that at the last counting82 percent of people who have won this award are earning their living aswriters today."



Media Contact