UCLA'S Anderson School Announces Winners of Loeb Competition and the Recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award


The winners and finalists of the 2000 Gerald Loeb Awards for DistinguishedBusiness and Financial Journalism were announced May 22 by Sue Johnson,president of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. Among the highest honorsin the journalism profession, these prestigious awards recognize membersof both print and broadcast media.

The 2000 Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Norman Pearlstine,editor-in-chief of Time Inc., Johnson also announced. The award is givenannually to honor a journalist whose career has exemplified the consistentand superior insight and professional skills necessary to contribute tothe public's understanding of business, finance and economic issues.

The winners and finalists of the 2000 Loeb Awards in the print and broadcastmedia categories are as follows:

LARGE NEWSPAPER CATEGORY The winner in the large newspaper category(circulation of more than 400,000) is Ellen E. Schultz for her series inthe Wall Street Journal on cash-balance pension plans that makes a difficultand important topic comprehensible to readers while leading to governmentscrutiny and worker activism.

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Andrea Gerlin forher series of articles on medical errors in the hospital care business,in the Philadelphia Inquirer; David Willman, for his investigative reportinginto the dangerous side effects of diabetes drug Rezulin, in the Los AngelesTimes; Gina Kolata and Kurt Eichenwald, for reporting that revealed howpharmaceutical companies secretly paid doctors to test drugs on patients,in the New York Times; and Susan Carey, Scott McCartney and William Carley,for their articles on the airline industry, in the Wall Street Journal.

MEDIUM-SIZE NEWSPAPER CATEGORY The winner in the medium-size newspapercategory (circulation between 150,000 and 400,000), is the team of AlisonYoung, Jeffrey Taylor and Janet Fix for their series of articles examininga deadly nationwide listeria outbreak and the resulting recall and epidemiologicalinvestigation, in the Detroit Free-Press.

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Sam Roe for "DeadlyAlliance: How Government and Industry Chose Weapons Over Workers,"a series documenting 50 years of misconduct by the American governmentand the beryllium industry in the production of metal used in nuclear bombs,in the Toledo Blade; Steve Massey and Mackenzie Carpenter, of the PittsburghPost-Gazette, for their series profiling the downfall of Allegheny GeneralHospital; and Steve Everly of the Kansas City Star, for his reporting ondefective water heaters that impacted thousands of consumers and spurredmanufacturers to take responsibility.

SMALL NEWSPAPER CATEGORY The winner in the small newspaper category(circulation of less than 150,000) is Harris Meyer for "The DoctorWill Sell You Now," an in-depth examination of the ethical implicationsof physicians selling health-related products to their patients throughmulti-level marketing arrangements, in the New Times (Hollywood, Fla.).

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Rob Perez for hisseries of stories documenting pricing differences for consumers in Hawaiiand other West Coast cities, in the Honolulu Star-Bulletin; and Lance Williamsfor his stories examining an incidence of tainted sutures that caused healthproblems nationwide, in the San Francisco Examiner.

MAGAZINES The winner in the magazine category is Jeff Blyskal for "CheapCar Parts Can Cost You a Bundle," an article in Consumer Reports highlightinga major problem in the automotive industry that added valuable data andshed light on a confusing topic for consumers.

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Joshua Ramo for "TheThree Marketeers," a profile of Alan Greenspan, Richard Rubin andLarry Summers, in Time; Gary Weiss for "Scandal on Wall Street,"an in-depth investigation of widespread trading irregularities at the AmericanStock Exchange, in Business Week; and Richard Behar for "The FairyTale is Over for the Kingdom of Brunei," a portrait of that country'sroyal family, in Fortune.

COMMENTARY The winner in the commentary category is David Ignatius forhis powerful and provocative columns on business and technology, in theWashington Post.

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Amity Shlaes for editorialson taxes, in the Wall Street Journal; Joseph Nocera for his columns inMoney Magazine; and Stephen Kiernan for editorials on improving air serviceto the Burlington, Vt., area, in the Burlington Free Press.

DEADLINE/BEAT WRITING The winner in the deadline/beat writing categoryis Ianthe Dugan for her reporting on the business of day trading, in theWashington Post. An honorable mention was awarded to Lawrence Messina forhis reporting on the federal takeover of the First National Bank of Keystone,in the Charleston Gazette (Charleston, W. Va.).

Also nominated as finalists in this category are: Jay Hancock for hisreporting on the widespread practice and impact of providing state grantsand subsidies to corporations, in the Baltimore Sun; Greg Schneider, alsoof the Baltimore Sun, for his series on the making of the F-22 fighterplane; and Monica Langley, for her articles on charitable giving and taxmatters, in the Wall Street Journal.

NETWORK AND LARGE-MARKET TV The winner in the network and large-marketTV category is the team headed by Brian Gaffney and Lea Thompson for theirin-depth series on the practices of the sweepstakes industry, for "DatelineNBC."

Also named as finalists in this category are: Iris Adler for her compellingdocumentation of the closing of a plant in Wilton, Maine, for New EnglandCable News; Jack Cloherty and Mike Taibbi for "Unhappy Returns,"for "Dateline NBC"; Chris Farrell, Joe Garbarino and team fortheir personal finance series, "Right on the Money," for TwinCities Public Television.

RADIO The winner in the Radio category is Carl Goldstein and team for"Minnesota in the Dot Com Age," on Minnesota Public Radio.

Thirty preliminary judges representing the media and academia made thepreliminary (finalist) selections. The winners were selected by a distinguishedpanel of final judges: Rance Crain, president and editorial director, CrainCommunications; Mary Anne Dolan, commentator and former editor, Los AngelesHerald Examiner; John Huey, managing editor, Fortune; Robert Kaiser, associateeditor, The Washington Post; Lawrence Minard, editor, Forbes Global; MarkMorrison, managing editor, Business Week; Michael Parks, former editor,Los Angeles Times; Paul Steiger, managing editor, The Wall Street Journal;and Richard Wald, senior vice president, ABC News.

Established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, the awards recognize writers whohave made significant contributions to the public's understanding of businessand financial issues. The judges select winners on the basis of qualityof reporting and writing, news and analytical value, and ingenuity andexclusivity. The Anderson School has administered the awards since 1973.

The 2000 Gerald Loeb Award winners and finalists as well as the LifetimeAchievement Award recipient will be honored at an awards banquet on June26 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York. For more information, pleasecall the Loeb Awards office at (310) 206-1877.



Media Contact