Academics & Faculty

UCLA School of Public Policy and Social Research Announces 1998-'99 Class of Senior Fellows


The president of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, a topdiplomatic correspondent, and a member of Italy's National Council of Economyand Labour are among the 18 members of the 1998-'99 class of Senior Fellowsat the UCLA School of Public Policy and Social Research.

The Senior Fellows program was created to bring together distinguishedpractitioners and UCLA faculty to enrich each others' work and students'education by giving them access to policymakers who have made major contributionsto the public good, Dean Barbara J. Nelson said in announcing the appointments.

"We are delighted to bring such an accomplished and diverse groupof Senior Fellows to UCLA," Nelson said. "Drawn from the public,private and non-profit sectors, the Fellows are all leaders in their fields,which range from education to journalism, international aid to public finance,health care to international business."

Senior Fellows participate in a wide range of activities, serving asguest lecturers in the classroom, meeting informally with students, andoffering policy briefings and presentations in their areas of expertise.Each Fellow also acts as a mentor to one or more students in the School.

Senior Fellows for the 1998-99 academic year are:

  • Eloise Anderson, director, California Department of Social Services,Wilson Administration
  • Anthony Beilenson, retired U.S. Congressman and former chair of theHouse Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
  • Greyson Bryan, partner, coordinator of international practice, O'Melveny& Myers
  • Thomas David, executive vice president, The California Wellness Foundation
  • Gavin de Becker, president, Gavin de Becker Inc.
  • Frank del Olmo, associate editor, Los Angeles Times
  • Eric Jolly, vice president, Education Development Center Inc.
  • Frank Karel, vice president, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Michael Mahdesian, deputy assistant administrator, U.S. Agency forInternational Development
  • Meryl Marshall, president, Two Oceans Entertainment Group; president,Academy of Television Arts and Sciences
  • Carlos Moorhead, retired U.S. Congressman and former chair of the HouseIntellectual Property Subcommittee
  • Edwin Morley-Fletcher, councillor, Italian National Council of Economyand Labour
  • Don Oberdorfer, diplomatic correspondent emeritus, Washington Post;journalist in residence, John Hopkins University
  • Philip Romero, chief economist and deputy cabinet secretary, CaliforniaGovernor's Office, Wilson Administration
  • Jane Silverman, executive director, The Association of Junior LeaguesInternational Inc.
  • Peter Taylor, senior vice president, Public Finance Division, LehmanBrothers
  • Rep. Esteban Torres (D-CA), deputy Democratic whip, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Jerry Wong, assistant regional census manager, U.S. Census Bureau Establishedin 1994, the School of Public Policy and Social Research is one of thelargest policy schools in the country. Comprised of three departments -Policy Studies, Social Welfare and Urban Planning - and 10 active researchcenters, the School emphasizes solving problems across boundaries, andparticularly at the intersection of the public, private and non-governmentalsectors.



Media Contact