Arts + Culture

UCLA at Walt Disney Hall: A celebration of world music

The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music and the Latino Museum of History, Art and Culture in Los Angeles present the UCLA Philharmonia's first-ever appearance at Walt Disney Concert Hall, under the direction of music professor Neal Stulberg.
The orchestral concert, representing a kaleidoscope of world cultures, composers and instruments, is part of the Los Angeles Philharmonic's "Sound About Town" series.
The event will feature works, arrangements and performances by a number of distinguished UCLA faculty members, as well as alumni, students and others. It will be preceded by a lecture by UCLA associate professor of musicology Elisabeth Le Guin.
8 p.m., Saturday, April 16 (pre-concert lecture begins at 7 p.m.)
Walt Disney Concert Hall, 111 S. Grand Avenue, Los Angeles (map)
Featured composers, arrangers and performers:
Neal Stulberg
Conductor of the UCLA Philharmonia and professor of music
Jesús Guzmán
Head of UCLA's Music of Mexico ensemble, lecturer in ethnomusicology and director of the Grammy Award–winning Mariachi Los Camperos de Nati Cano
A. J. Racy
Lebanese American performer and composer and UCLA professor of ethnomusicology
James Newton
World-renowned UCLA jazz and chamber music composer and professor of ethnomusicology
Arturo Márquez
UC Regents' Lecturer, creator of the internationally popular "Danzon" series of symphonic works and a recipient of the National Award for the Arts in Mexico
Danilo Lozano
Jazz flutist and UCLA alumnus 
Ge Gan-Ru
Acclaimed Chinese composer
Soloists will include Danilo Lozano on jazz flute; A.J. Racy on nay and buzuq; Mariachi Los Camperos de Nati Cano; a UCLA student jazz trio; and performers on Chinese traditional instruments.
The UCLA Philharmonia concert will include the following works:
Danzon No. 4 (1996)
Arturo Marquez (b. 1950) 
"Arab World Suite: A Sea of Memories" for nay, buzuq and orchestra (1996)
A. J. Racy (b. 1943) 
"Chinese Rhapsody" (1992) 
Ge Gan-Ru (b. 1954)
"The Line of Immortality" for jazz flute, piano trio and ensemble (1992)
James Newton (b. 1953) 
Traditional "Huasteco" suite and traditional "España"
(arranged by Manuel Cerda and Jesús Guzmán)  
To purchase tickets, please visit the Los Angeles Philharmonic website.
Shilo Munk | 310-825-6540 |
Media Contact