The UCLA Academic Senate Committee on Learning has selected the 2014-2015 Senate faculty recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award. One of the highest honors given by the Academic Senate, the award recognizes academically and professionally accomplished individuals who bring respect and admiration to the scholarship of teaching. The committtee selects recipients from nominations received from colleagues and leaders across the campus.

The Senate faculty honorees are:

Robert Fink, professor and chair of the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music’s minor in the music industry, will also receive the award for Distinction in Teaching at the Graduate Level.


Alan Garfinkel is a professor of medicine and physiological science at the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine.


Thomas Gillespie, professor of geography and member of the UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, will also receive the Undergraduate Mentorship Award.


Tyrone Howard is a professor of education at the UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies, as well as faculty director of the school's Center X Teacher Education Program and director of UCLA's Black Male Institute. Howard will also receive the Eby Award for the Art of Teaching.


Daniel T. Kamei is an associate professor and vice chair of the department of bioengineering at the UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science.


Joanna Schwartz is an assistant professor at the UCLA School of Law, where she teaches classes in civil procedure as well as supervises the Civil Rights Litigation Clinic.


Later this spring, the Academic Senate will also select Distinguished Teaching Award recipients from among non-Senate faculty and teaching assistant nominees. All of the winners will be honored during the annual Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching ceremony in the fall, an event co-hosted by the Academic Senate and the UCLA Office of Instructional Development.