Four members of the UCLA community have been honored with awards for their contributions to making campus a better place to work. The 2018 Scholarship and Awards Recognition Ceremony, presented by the UCLA Staff Assembly and held June 21 at the James West Alumni Center, also recognized commitment to professional development with the awarding of staff scholarships, valued at up to $500.

Jane Bitar, manager of the department of communication, was named this year’s recipient of the Chancellor’s Excellence in Service Award. The $4,000 award, presented by Jerry Kang, vice chancellor for equity, diversity and inclusion, recognizes, encourages and reinforces the performance of staff members who have greatly contributed to UCLA’s ongoing mission. 

The Faculty/Staff Partnership Award was presented to Tina Christie, professor and chair of the department of education in the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies. The award, which was presented by Lubbe Levin, associate vice chancellor of human campus resources, recognizes faculty who exemplify the values of collaboration and collegiality with staff.

The Staff Assembly President’s Award was presented by Staff Assembly President Walen Ngo to Angelo Magpantay, a network engineer in UCLA Health, and Djoko Setiyawan, a senior fund manager for pathology and laboratory medicine. The award recognizes UCLA staff members who go above and beyond to volunteer for and/or support Staff Assembly related events and programs.

In addition, 25 UCLA staff members received scholarships of up to $500 to support professional training by contributing toward costs for classes, courses, workshops and conferences and books for career development. Staff Assembly funded 19 scholarships, up from 15 in other years, thanks to a 2017 Staff Assembly Spark campaign. Two scholarships were funded by the Semel HCI Center at UCLA for education and training that supports the health and wellness of the UCLA community, and four scholarships were funded by the UCLA Retirees Association.