The UCLA Academic Senate has selected 10 faculty members as well as five teaching assistants to receive this year’s Distinguished Teaching Award. The award recognizes academically and professionally accomplished individuals who bring respect and admiration to the scholarship of teaching. Recipients are selected by the Senate Committee on Teaching from nominations received from colleagues and campus leaders.
Senate faculty recipients are:

Michael Carey and John Colicelli, professors and vice chairs of the department of biological chemistry, who will receive the Undergraduate Mentorship Award

Rachelle Crosbie-Watson, associate professor in the department of integrative biology and physiology

Jonathan Grossman, associate professor in the department of English, who will receive the Eby Award for the Art of Teaching

Lynn Hunt, distinguished professor of history and Eugen Weber Endowed Chair in Modern European History, who will receive the award for Distinction in Teaching at the Graduate Level

David Shorter, professor in the department of world arts and cultures/dance

Megan Sweeney, professor, vice chair and director of graduate studies in the department of sociology.

Non-Senate faculty recipients are:

Randall Fallows, lecturer and Writer II coordinator of the department of writing programs

Anna Kudyma, lecturer in Russian and Ukrainian in the department of Slavic languages and literatures

Joan Schleper, lecturer in the School of Nursing

Teaching assistant recipients are:

Michael Nicholson, department of English

Christopher Snead, department of Earth and space sciences

Jean-Paul deGuzman, department of history

Cari Gillen-O’Neel, department of psychology

Jida Wang, department of geography