The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the election of 213 new members who include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers and artists.

Among those elected into the 2016 class are seven UCLA faculty members.  This brings the total of UCLA members to 144.

The newly elected UCLA faculty members are, in alphabetical order: 

Robert Buswell Jr., distinguished professor of Buddhist studies in the UCLA Department of Asian Languages and Cultures and founding director of the Center for Buddhist Studies and Center for Korean Studies at UCLA.

Steven Jacobsen, professor of molecular, cell and developmental biology, and a principal investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Robin D.G. Kelley, distinguished professor of history and the Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in United States History. 

Glen MacDonald, the John Muir Memorial Chair of Geography, director of the White Mountain Research Center and a UCLA distinguished professor.

Kelsey Martin, interim dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and professor of biological chemistry, psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences.

Roberto Peccei, professor emeritus in the department of physics and astronomy and the former UCLA vice chancellor for research.

Wayne Shorterinfluential jazz saxophonist and composer and institute trustee of the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz in the Herb Alpert School of Music at UCLA.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing—and opportunities available to—the nation and the world. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science, engineering, and technology policy; global security and international affairs; the humanities, arts, and education; and American institutions and the public good.

Members of the 2016 class include winners of the Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowships; the Fields Medal; and the Grammy Award and National Book Award.

“It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “Their election affords us an invaluable opportunity to bring their expertise and knowledge to bear on some of the most significant challenges of our day. We look forward to engaging these new members in the work of the Academy.”

Those elected in public affairs, business, and administration include: professor and autism spokesperson Temple Grandin; Walter Isaacson, CEO of the Aspen Institute and former managing editor, Time; and Monica Lozano, Chair of the Board, U.S. Hispanic Media, and publisher and CEO, La Opinión. Philanthropists and business leaders in the 2016 class include: Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation co-founder and philanthropist Edythe Broad; TEI Industries Chairman and CEO and Wilmer Eye Institute Chair Sanford Greenberg; and President of Ariel Investments Mellody Hobson.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 8, 2016, in Cambridge, Massachusetts.