University of California President Janet Napolitano and the chancellors of UC's 10 campuses today, Nov. 9, issued the following statement on the presidential election results:

In light of yesterday's election results, we know there is understandable consternation and uncertainty among members of the University of California community. The University of California is proud of being a diverse and welcoming place for students, faculty and staff with a wide range of backgrounds, experiences and perspectives. Diversity is central to our mission. We remain absolutely committed to supporting all members of our community and adhering to UC’s Principles Against Intolerance. As the principles make clear, the university “strives to foster an environment in which all are included” and “all are given an equal opportunity to learn and explore.” The University of California will continue to pursue and protect these principles now and in the future, and urges our students, faculty, staff and all others associated with the university to do so as well.

We are proud of what the University of California stands for and hope to convey that positive message to others in our state and nation.

President Janet Napolitano
University of California

Chancellor Nicholas B. Dirks
UC Berkeley

Interim Chancellor Ralph Hexter
UC Davis

Chancellor Howard Gillman
UC Irvine

Chancellor Gene Block

Chancellor Dorothy Leland
UC Merced

Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox
UC Riverside

Chancellor Pradeep Khosla
UC San Diego

Chancellor Sam Hawgood
UC San Francisco

Chancellor Henry T. Yang
UC Santa Barbara

Chancellor George R. Blumenthal
UC Santa Cruz